Glossary Of Sanskrit Terms G-L

Haihayas – a dynasty of demoniac kings destroyed by Lord Parasurama.
Haladhara – the Supreme Lord, who, in the form of Balarama, bears a plow in His hands.
Hamsa – the swan incarnation of the Lord.
Hanuman – the great monkey servitor of Lord Ramacandra.
Hara – [See:] Siva

The ascending system is so named because those who employ it have the idea that by the power of their own minds they can raise themselves up, or ascend, to the level of perfect understanding. By their own strength, they hope to understand the Absolute Truth. These persons are able to see that at the present moment they are covered by ignorance or illusion, and are thus unable to understand the Absolute Truth. Having faith in their own mental strength, however, and their own ability to know and understand things, they feel that by their own power they can lift themselves up to the level where they can know everything. More or less, they are trying to climb the ladder of spiritual understanding by their own strength.
Science of Identity Foundation – Tusta Krishna Das

Hara – [See:] Radha(rani)
Hare (hara) – [See:] Radha(rani)
Hare Krsna mantra – [See: Maha-mantra]
Hare Krsna mantra – the great chant for deliverance: Hare Krsna, Hare Krsna, Krsna Krsna, Hare Hare, Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare.
Hari – the Supreme Lord, who removes all obstacles to spiritual progress.
Hari-bhakti-vilasa – Sanatana Gosvami's book on the rules and regulations of Vaisnava life.
Hari-cakra – Krsna's Sudarsana weapon, the wheel.
Haridasa Thakura – a great devotee and associate of Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu who chanted three hundred thousand names of God a day.
Hari-katha – topics of Lord Hari, Krsna.
Hari-kirtana – the chanting of the names of Lord Hari (Krsna).
Hari-nama-sankirtana – congregational chanting of the holy names of the Supreme Lord.
Hari-vamsa – the appendix to the [Mahabharata.] It is a summary of Krsna's pastimes by Srila Vyasadeva.
Haryaksa – [See:] Hiranyaksa
Hastinapura – the ancient capital of Bharata-varsa, or India. It occupies a portion of what is today called New Delhi.
Hatha-yoga – the practice of postures and breathing eercises for achieving purification and sense control.
Hayagriva, Lord – the Supreme Lord's horse-headed incarnation, who returned the stolen [Vedas] to Brahma.
Hayasirsa – the horse-headed incarnation of Lord Krsna. He spoke the [Vedas] to Lord Brahma.
Heavenly planets – the higher planets of the universe, residences of the demigods.
Hell – hellish planets within this universe meant for the punishment and rectification of the sinful.
Hindu – a newly concocted name for members of various social and religious groups of India. The term has no spiritual significance.
Hiranyakasipu – a powerful demon who tormented his son Prahlada, a great devotee, and was slain by Lord Nrsimhadeva.
Hiranyaksa – the demoniac son of Kasyapa who was killed by Lord Varaha.
Hladini-sakti – the Supreme Lord's pleasure potency.
Hrdaya-granthi – the hard knot of material attachment in the heart.
Hrsikesa – the Supreme Lord, the supreme master of everyone's senses.
Hrta-jnana – bereft of knowledge.
Iksvaku – the son of Manu who was king of the earth in ancient times and to whom Manu spoke [Bhagavad-gita].
Ilavrta-varsa – the original name of this earth planet, before it became known as Bharata-varsa.
Indra – the chief of the administrative demigods, king of the heavenly planets and presiding deity of rain.
Indraloka – the planet of Indra.
Isa – the Supreme Lord, who is the supreme controller.
Isitva – in mystic [yoga,] the perfection of control over others.
ISKCON – the International Society for Krishna Consciousness.
Isopanisad – one of the principal [Upanisads.]
Ista – the performance of public welfare activities such as digging wells or planting trees.
Isvara – the Supreme Lord, who is the supreme controller.
Itihasa – a historical account.