Glossary Of Sanskrit Terms T-Z

Yadava dynasty – [See:] Yadu dynasty.
Yadus – the descendants of Yadu, in which dynasty Lord Krsna appeared.
Yadu dynasty – the dynasty in which Lord Krsna appeared.
Yajamana – the sponsor for whom a Vedic sacrifice is performed.
Yajna – a Vedic sacrifice; also, the Supreme Lord, the goal and enjoyer of all sacrifices.

The descending system has nothing to do with knowledge based on sense perception, either by direct sensual experience, or by reasoning or hypotheses which proceed from it. Unlike the ascending process, the descending system of receiving knowledge is not based on one's endeavor to enter the spiritual world on one's own strength, but is based on receiving information which has descended from the spiritual world.
Science of Identity Foundation – Tusta Krishna Das

Yajna-purusa – Krsna, the supreme enjoyer of all sacrifices.
Yajur Veda – one of the four [Vedas,] the original revealed scriptures spoken by the Lord Himself.
Yaksas – ghostly followers of the demigod Kuvera.
Yama – the process of controlling the senses.
Yamadutas – the messengers of Yamaraja, the lord of death.
Yamaraja – the demigod who punishes the sinful after death.
Yamunacarya – a great Vaisnava spiritual master of the Sri [sampradaya].
Yasoda – the foster mother of Krsna, who was the Queen of Vraja and wife of Maharaja Nanda.
Yasoda-nandana – the Supreme Lord, Krsna, who is the darling son of Yasoda.
Yatra – journey.
Yavana – a low-class person, generally a meat-eater; a barbarian.
Yayati – the king who, because of his lust, was cursed by Sukracarya to prematurely accept old age.
Yoga – spiritual discipline undergone to link oneself with the Supreme.
Yogamaya – the internal, spiritual energy of the Supreme Lord; also, its personification as Krsna's younger sister.
Yoga-nidra – the mystic slumber of Lord Visnu.
Yoga-siddhis – mystic powers.
Yogendras – nine devotee sons of Rsabhadeva.
Yogesvara – the Supreme Lord, Krsna, the supreme master of all mystic power.
Yogi – a transcendentalist striving for union with the Supreme.
Yogini – a female [yogi].
Yojana – a Vedic unit of length equal to about eight miles.
Yudhisthira – the eldest of the five Pandava brothers; he ruled the earth after the Kuruksetra war.
Yuga-avataras – the four incarnations of the Supreme Lord who prescribe the appropriate method of spiritual realization in each of the four [yugas,] or ages.
Yugas – ages in the life of the universe, occurring in a repeated cycle of four.
Yuga-dharma – the religion for the age.
Yuktavairagya – real renunciation in which one utilizes everything in the service of the Supreme Lord.